Justice Loyce Matanda-Moyo

The Chairperson of the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission is Justice Loyce Matanda-Moyo. She is a qualified Legal Practitioner and Judge of the High Court who studied law at the University of Zimbabwe including training as a Judge advocacy in the United States of America. Justice Loyce Matanda-Moyo has spent her entire life in the public sector in the legal field as a Director of the Civil Court Division (2002), Director of Public Prosecution (2005), President of the Labour Court (2006), Judge of High Court (2013) where she played critical roles in the criminal justice system.

Her appointment as the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission Chairperson in May 2019 was celebrated in the legal profession as she would handle corruption matters ‘without fear or favour.’ Justice Loyce Matanda-Moyo is known in the Legal circles as pushing for the recovery of assets to ensure that people who have committed crimes never benefit from proceeds of crime.

Commissioner Phineas Murapa

Commissioner Phineas Murapa is the ZACC Deputy Chairperson. He has been a businessman, civil servant, program manager and consultant and with over 30 years of experience leading a regional development banking organization, government departments and blue chip corporates in design of development projects. He is a public sector strategist with a deep understanding of the working of Government and its relationship with non-state actors.

He is an accomplished academic with a reasonable research record. He lectured at three universities, including University of Zimbabwe, University of Bradford (UK) and Institutes of Social Studies in The Hague and Housing in Amsterdam, Netherlands. Also conducted lectures for the Institute of Public Administration and Management in Nairobi, Kenya. Commissioner Murapa has deep understanding of Results Based Management and its application in the public sector for budgeting and Monitoring and Evaluation.

Commissioner Jessie Fungayi Majome

Commissioner Jessie Fungayi Majome is responsible for the Legal issues at ZACC. She is a lawyer with experience as a legislator and a former government minister. She is a human and women’s rights advocate. She is studying for a Doctor of Laws degree in Constitutional Law. Commissioner Majome is passionate about constitutionalism having been a member of the 25-member select committee of Parliament that authored the 2013 Constitution.

She is convinced that implementation of it through strengthening of state institutions including ZACC will deliver Zimbabwe from corruption into prosperity for all.

Commissioner John Makamure

Commissioner John Makamure chairs the Committee on Prevention and Corporate Governance. This portfolio covers Public Education, Research and Knowledge Management, Compliance, Communications and Media Liaison. Commissioner Makamure is also the ZACC spokesperson.

He holds a First Degree in Economics and Masters in Business Administration both obtained from the University of Zimbabwe. In addition he holds a Diploma in Journalism obtained from the Indian Institute of Mass Communication. He is currently studying for a Doctorate in Business Administration with Binary University, Malaysia.

Commissioner Dr Mabel Ndakaripa Hungwe

Commissioner Dr Mabel Ndakaripa Hungwe chairs the Human Resource Committee and the External Relations and International Conventions portfolio at ZACC. She holds a PhD degree in Social and Economic Development from Lund University in Sweden. She holds a Masters degree in Public Policy from the University of Zimbabwe and had a double major in Agronomy and Plant Genetics from USA.

Commissioner Hungwe has worked all over the African continent as a consultant in Researcher/Analyst/Knowledge Management Specialist with a flair in policy, development and agriculture value chains. Her passion is in learning, sharing and knowledge management.

Commissioner Thandiwe Mlobane

Commissioner Thandiwe Mlobane chairs the Audit and Risk Committee of ZACC. She is a holder of a Bachelor of Accountancy Degree from the University of Zimbabwe as well as a Masters degree in Business Administration from the National University of Science and Technology. In addition, she has various post Graduate courses from University of South Africa and Rutgers State University of New Jersey, USA.

Commissioner Mlobane has extensive experience in Corporate Governance having been a Board Member and Non-Executive Director of various Parastatals and Public Listed companies.

Commissioner (Rtd) Major Michael Santu

Commissioner (Rtd) Major Michael Santu is extremely knowledgeable in areas of governance, public finance and investigation. He has worked as a public servant all his life. He was instrumental in the formation of the Financial Intelligent Unit based at the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe.

He holds a Masters degree in Leadership and Management from the University of Zimbabwe. Commissioner Santu is a Co-Chair of the Investigations Portfolio.

Commissioner Frank Muchengwa

Commissioner Frank Muchengwa is a seasoned investigator who is Co-Chair of the Investigation Portfolio. He holds a Masters degree in Entrepreneurship from the University of Zimbabwe, a Bachelor of Science degree (Honours) in Psychology from the Zimbabwe Open University. Commissioner Muchengwa also holds a diploma in Security studies, a diploma in Adult Education and Certificate in Investigations from South Africa.

Commissioner Gabriel Chaibva

Commissioner Gabriel Chaibva is a teacher by qualification, a graduate of the University of Zimbabwe where he obtained a Bachelor of Science General Degree majoring in Mathematics and Physics.

After 10 years working in the Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine at the Medical School, Commissioner Chaibva was elected to Parliament where he established himself as a local government expert. He was admitted as a graduate of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators in Zimbabwe, now called the Chartered Governance Institute. At ZACC, he is Commissioner responsible for Administration, Finance and Investments.

Blow The Whistle